Elimination Chamber Review

Courtesy of WWE

I was pleasantly surprised with the Elimination Chamber PPV last night it exceeded my expectations in my opinion. In the preshow Stardust took on Zack Ryder and Stardust pick up the win via the Dark Matter. On Miz TV Daniel Bryan announced his shocking return to the ring which I am not surprised because I read reports he could return at SummerSlam we will have to wait and see what happens. As I always do I provide you with my three count of the significant highlights of the show in addition to the results at what took place.

1) Instant Classic

Now going into this match I did not know what to expect in terms of backing the match but I must say it was absolutely perfectly in my opinion. Kevin Owens absolutely dominated Cena. I was not surprise at this. There were certain spots that Owens performed on Cena and I was shocked, such as doing moonsault which I did not expect to see in addition to AA on Cena.

There was a super kick spot throughout the match that was a tribute to both the Matt and Nick Jackson of the Bullet Club. I have to give Cena respect for putting Owens over immediately which was simple, but it just goes to show you how selfless John Cena has become. This match was an instant classic on all levels with many near falls that left fans on the edge of their seat the entire match. It took two Pop up Power bombs to pick up a massive victory and a star was born in his debut PPV debut.

2) Controversy

It was time for the main event and I knew it would be entertaining however I was intrigued to witness the match, because it could have went in many different scenarios. In the preshow Dean Ambrose promised to take the title from Rollins and the Authority, then Reigns came in and he stated that he would be in Ambrose’s corner.

This led me to believe that Reigns would turn on Ambrose and turn heel due to the crowd mix reaction of him for months now. Now onto the match it was perfectly booked in my opinion it was a fast paced match, with numerous near falls. Fans knew that with the WWE Heavyweight championship being in jeopardy the Authority would get involved and it was no surprise they did. Ambrose got rid of the Authority via multiple running elbows knocking them off the ring apron.

Seth Rollins knew he was in danger therefore he put the referee in front of him, as Ambrose came off the top rope with an elbow that knock out the referee. Then all chaos broke loose then out of nowhere Ambrose connected with the Dirty Deeds but no referee was present, another referee came down to the ring in time he counted three. Dean Ambrose is the NEW Heavyweight Champion and there was a huge pause because every fan was like what just happened. Then the other referee that got knocked down reversed the decision and your winner via DQ was Rollins. However Ambrose had different plans and he left with the title in controversial fashion.

3) Surprises

It was announced on the preshow that a former world champion would be replacing Rusev in the Intercontinental Elimination Chamber match. Now this was good match, but the crowd was absolutely dead which it hurt the overall atmosphere of this contest. No disrespect to Mark Henry I like him however I would love to see another former World Champion instead.

Sheamus had a genius strategy and he pretended that he was trapped in his pod he let everybody else beat each other up, and then capitalized on the situation. Sheamus gave Ryback quite a beating when he connected with the White Noise and a Fireman carry on the steel structure. However Ryback got his strength back and Ryback had the last laugh when he hit the Shell Shock for the three count to became the NEW Intercontinental Champion. Hopefully this belt and will elevate his overall career but I am very skeptical though.

Overall

I thought that the PPV was above average and I would give it an 8/10 however the crowd involvement really hurt the PPV overall feel in my opinion. WWE should ban all events from Corpus Christi because they are always dead like a funeral home with no fan reactions for the entire night.

Elimination Chamber Results
The New Day retained their Tag Team Titles via Trouble in Paradise to Titus O’Neil
Nikki Bella retained her Divas title via the Rack Attack Naomi
Neville defeated Bo Dallas via Red Arrow

Like us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/BeyondThe3Count
Follow us on Twitter @BeyondThe3Count
Follow us on Instagram @BeyondThe3Count

Leave a comment